Cool things about dyslexia!

 

Most information about dyslexia focuses on the bad stuff but what’s good about it?

1. Seeing the bigger picture

Dyslexia image for webpagePeople with dyslexia often see things more holistically.
They miss the trees but see the forest.

                               “It’s as if people with dyslexia tend to use a wide-angle lens to take in the world,
                               while others tend to use a telephoto, each is best at revealing different kinds  of        detail.”        
Matthew H. Schneps, Harvard University

2. Finding the odd one out

Dyslexic people excel at global visual processing and the detection of impossible figures. Dyslexic scientist Christopher Tonkin described his unusual sensitivity to “things out of place.” Scientists in his line of work must make sense of enormous quantities of visual data and accurately find black hole anomalies.

There are so many dyslexic people in the field of astrophysics that it prompted research at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. Findings confirmed that those with dyslexia are better at identifying and memorizing complex images.

Many dyslexics demonstrate better skills at manipulating 3D objects in their mind. Many of the world’s top architects and fashion designers have dyslexia.

“I was called stupid. Not only could I not read, but I couldn’t memorize my school work. I was always at the bottom of the class. I became very depressed.”Richard Rogers said.

3. Improved pattern recognition

People with dyslexia have the ability to see how things connect to form complex systems and to identify similarities among multiple things. Such strengths are likely to be of particular significance for fields like science and mathematics, where visual representations are key.

Beryl Benacerraf, M.D., Physician. World-renowned radiologist and expert in ultrasound.
“I recognized that I had dyslexia and then I realized I had this gift for imaging. I live in a world of patterns and images, and I see things that no one else sees. Because of dyslexia, I can see these patterns.”

“You can’t overcome it (dyslexia); you can work around it and make it work for you, but it never goes away. That’s probably a good thing, because if dyslexia went away, then the other gifts would go away too.”Cool image

4. Good spatial knowledge

Many dyslexics demonstrate better skills at manipulating 3D objects in their mind. Many of the world’s top architects and fashion designers have dyslexia.

“I was called stupid. Not only could I not read, but I couldn’t memorize my school work. I was always at the bottom of the class. I became very depressed.”
Richard Rogers

“I performed poorly at school – when I attended, that is – and was perceived as stupid because of my dyslexia. I still have trouble reading. I have to concentrate very hard at going left to right, left to right, otherwise my eye just wanders to the bottom of the page.”
Tommy Hilfiger

 

Leave a Reply

